Posted by: Caitlin Cavanaugh | November 1, 2010

News releases are more difficult than one would expect

Strategic writing is a lot harder than I expected. I thought writing press releases would be easy because it’s more objective than news articles, but that’s not the case. It’s a lot harder because I have to be writing for a client opposed to writing for news. This class is going to teach me the difference between objective and non-objective writing.

I was thinking about going into strategic communications because it seemed like something I would be good at. But after having to write a news release I’m beginning to think back to graphic media because that’s something I really understand.

I’m glad that I have the opportunity to write strategic communications pieces because it will definitely come in handy in the future. It has opened my eyes to the other opportunities around me in this class.

This weeks Harrower assignment has given me a lot of information about the world of public relations. It’s not something I knew a lot about before I started reading this chapter. It gave me a lot of insights into how much work the people in the strategic communications field have to do in order to do their job well.

This class has showed me how much effort goes into the communication field that a lot of people take for granted. It’s not a simple career to get into because of all the work that goes into learning how to write the different news pieces.

Writing the news release was more difficult than writing articles because it’s two different ways of writing. I’m glad we did broadcast writing between articles and press releases because it was an easier transition. I’m excited to write more press releases and learn more about how it works.

I also want to mention that in this chapter more than others I noticed the names for the first time. My favorite of the three interviewees was Chris P. Bacon. I never noticed them before now. After all the names and topics of the assignments makes it more entertaining to write about.

Leave a Reply

Categories

